COVID-⁠19 Switzerland

Information on the current situation, as of 21 June 2021

Key figures,Switzerland and Liechtenstein

Relevant virus variants

This data is based on reports from laboratories that sequence the virus material or specifically examine it for mutations. The test results are recorded via our reporting system as well as via a national SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2 monitoring programme.

Virus variants overview

Relevant virus variants, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, 28.09.2020 to 21.06.2021

Virus variants are identified and classified on the basis of mutations in their genome (change to genetic material). In the case of some SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2 variants, mutations lead to altered pathogen characteristics, including an increased risk of infection, more serious cases of the disease, the risk of re-⁠infection and reduced vaccine protection. The spread of these virus variants can impact the epidemiological situation. It is for this reason that they are classified as relevant variants and subjected to special observation.

The WHO has classified individual virus variants as variants of concern (VOC) and variants of interest (VOI). In Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein, the classification of virus variants may differ from those of the WHO, as the relevance of the respective variants depends on their current regional occurrence.

The variant B.1.1.7– Alpha (first detected in the UK in September 2020) has been the most common variant in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein since mid-⁠February 2021. Since May 2021, it has therefore no longer been classified as a VOC in these areas.

Laboratories report the results of the so-⁠called case-⁠specific variant analysis to us via the reporting system. These include the targeted examination of individual mutations or the partial or complete sequencing of the genome. The systematic monitoring of circulating virus variants, on the other hand, involves the targeted, complete sequencing of the genome from a representative sample. The data can be used to estimate the proportion of individual virus variants. Previously unknown variants can also be identified.

Reporting system: Results of the case-⁠specific variant analysis are transmitted to us via the reporting system. Case-⁠specific analyses include either the targeted examination of individual mutations or a partial or complete sequencing of the genome. The data is primarily collected within the context of a targeted clarification (e.g. outbreak investigations, vaccination breakthroughs and re-⁠infections). The collected samples are therefore not representative.

Monitoring: Results from monitoring are based on the complete genome sequencing of SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2. As part of the monitoring, the laboratory sequences random samples from positive SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2 samples. This allows for a representative and comprehensive overview of the currently circulating virus variants to be obtained. On the basis of the data, we can estimate the proportion of individual virus variants. We are also able to recognise previously unknown variants.

Variants Reporting system Monitoring
B.1.351 – Beta

This virus variant is considered to be of concern (VOC) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. First detected in South Africa in May 2020.

Reporting system

249

Monitoring

237
P.1 – Gamma

This virus variant is considered to be of concern (VOC) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. Detected for the first time in Brazil and Japan at the end of 2020.

Reporting system

21

Monitoring

114
B.1.617.2 - Delta

This virus variant is considered to be of concern (VOC) since the beginning of May 2021, as an increased risk of infection, a heightened risk of re-⁠⁠infection and a reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠⁠19 vaccine are suspected. First detected in India in October 2020.

Reporting system

17

Monitoring

83
B.1.617.1 - Kappa

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC. First detected in India in October 2020.

Reporting system

1

Monitoring

10
B.1.1.7 – Alpha

This virus variant (first detected in the UK in September 2020) is considered to be of concern (VOC) internationally due to an increased risk of infection. This variant has been the dominant variant in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein since mid-⁠February 2021. Since May 2021, it has therefore no longer been classified as a VOC in these areas.

Reporting system

18 100

Monitoring

18 642
P.2 – Zeta

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC. First detected in Brazil in April 2020.

Reporting system

32

Monitoring

17
B.1.525 – Eta

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC. First detected in Nigeria and other countries in december 2020.

Reporting system

4

Monitoring

38
B.1.526 – Iota

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC. First detected in United States of America in November 2020.

Reporting system

-

Monitoring

8
B.1.1.7 & E484K

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to an increased risk of infection as well as a suspected heightened risk of re-⁠infection. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC.

Reporting system

0

Monitoring

-
Share
covid19.admin.ch
Source: FOPH (Reporting system) – Status: 21.06.2021, 07.54h
Source: FOPH (Monitoring) – Status: 21.06.2021, 08.04h

Development over time

Relevant virus variants, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, 28.09.2020 to 21.06.2021

The systematic monitoring of circulating virus variants involves the targeted, complete sequencing of the genome from a representative sample. The data can be used to estimate the proportion of individual virus variants. We are also able to identify previously unknown variants.

The graphic shows the development of the estimated proportion of relevant virus variants in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein over a selected period of time. The line represents the seven-⁠day average (average of previous three days to subsequent three days). The bar chart contains the number of completely sequenced samples per day.

For the individually selected variants, the daily values are bounded with an upper and lower value, which represent a probability of 95%.
B.1.351 – Beta
P.1 – Gamma
B.1.617.2 - Delta
Estimated proportion of relevant virus variants in the seven-⁠day average
Sample sequencing
Share
covid19.admin.ch
Source: FOPH (Monitoring) – Status: 21.06.2021, 08.04h

COVID-⁠19 Suisse

Informations sur la situation actuelle, état au 22 octobre 2021

Évolution de l'épidémie,Suisse et Liechtenstein

Variants du virus pertinents

Ces données sont basées sur les déclarations des laboratoires qui procèdent au séquençage du virus ou examinent spécifiquement les mutations. Les résultats sont saisis via notre système de déclaration et par le biais d’un programme national de surveillance du SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2.

Aperçu des variantes du virus

Variants du virus pertinents, Suisse et Liechtenstein, 28.09.2020 au 22.10.2021

Les variants du virus sont déterminés et classés en fonction des mutations dans leur génome (modification du matériel génétique). Pour certains variants du SARS-⁠⁠CoV-⁠⁠2, les mutations entraînent une modification des agents pathogènes comme un risque accru d’infection, une évolution grave de la maladie, le risque d’une nouvelle infection ou un niveau de protection vaccinale réduit. La propagation de ces variants peut influer sur la situation épidémiologique. C’est pourquoi ils sont classés en tant que variants pertinentes et font l’objet d’une surveillance particulière.

L’OMS a classé les différentes variantes en deux catégories : les VOC (Variants Of Concern ; français : variantes préoccupantes) et les VOI (Variants Of Interest ; français: variantes à suivre).
En Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein, le classement des variantes peut différer de celui de l’OMS car la pertinence des variantes dépend de leur incidence régionale actuelle.

Le variant B.1.1.7– Alpha (découverte pour la première fois en Grande-⁠⁠Bretagne en septembre 2020) est le variant le plus répandu en Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein depuis mi-⁠⁠février 2021. Par conséquent, il n’est plus classé comme VOC depuis mai 2021 dans ces deux pays.

Les laboratoires nous transmettent les résultats de l’analyse axée sur les cas via le système de déclaration. Il s’agit d’une analyse ciblée des différentes mutations ou du séquençage partiel ou complet du génome, tandis que la surveillance systématique de variants de virus en circulation repose sur le séquençage ciblé et complet du génome à partir d’un échantillon représentatif. Les données ainsi collectées permettent d’estimer la proportion de chacun des variants et d’identifier des variants jusqu’ici inconnus.

Système de déclaration: Les résultats de l’analyse axée sur les cas nous sont transmis via le système de déclaration. Il s’agit soit d’une analyse ciblée des différentes mutations, soit du séquençage partiel ou complet du génome. Les données sont essentiellement collectées dans le cadre d‘une analyse ciblée (par exemple, études de flambées, cas malgré la vaccination complète et réinfections). Il ne s’agit donc pas d’échantillons représentatifs.

Surveillance: Les résultats de la surveillance se basent sur le séquençage complet du SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2. Dans le cadre de la surveillance, un laboratoire procède au séquençage d‘échantillons positifs au SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2, sélectionnés de manière aléatoire, ce qui permet d’avoir une vue d’ensemble représentative à l’échelle nationale des variantes de virus actuellement en circulation. Les données nous permettent d’estimer la proportion de chacune des variantes et d‘identifier des variantes jusqu’ici inconnues.

Variantes Système de déclaration Surveillance
B.1.351 – Beta

De mi-⁠février à fin juin 2021, ce variant a été celui qui a été le plus souvent détecté en Suisse et au Liechtenstein. Par conséquent, depuis mai 2021, il n’y est plus classé comme variant préoccupant (VOC). Sur le plan international, il reste classé comme VOC, car il existe un risque accru d’infection. Il a été détecté pour la première fois en septembre 2020 en Grande-⁠⁠Bretagne.

Système de déclaration

250

Surveillance

269
P.1 – Gamma

Ce variant est considéré comme préoccupant (VOC) en raison du risque d’une nouvelle infection et de l’efficacité réduite de la vaccination contre le COVID-⁠⁠19. Il a été découvert pour la première fois au Brésil et au Japon fin 2020.

Système de déclaration

28

Surveillance

222
B.1.617.2, toutes les sous-⁠variants AY – Delta

Le nom Delta renvoie à la famille de variants B.1.617.2 et toutes les sous-⁠variants AY. Depuis fin juin 2021, cette famille de variants est celle qui a été le plus souvent détectée en Suisse et au Liechtenstein. Par conséquent, depuis mi-⁠août 2021, elle n’y est plus classée comme variant préoccupant (variant of concern, VOC). Sur le plan international, elle reste classée comme VOC, car il existe un risque accru de nouvelle infection et d’efficacité réduite du vaccin contre le COVID-⁠19. Elle a été détectée pour la première fois en octobre 2020 en Inde.

Système de déclaration

3397

Surveillance

22 110
C.37 – Lambda

Ce variant est un variant à suivre (variant of interest, VOI), car il laisse supposer un risque accru de nouvelle infection et une efficacité réduite de la vaccination contre le COVID-⁠19. Jusqu’ici, il a été rarement détecté en Suisse. C’est pourquoi nous ne le classons pas comme préoccupant. Il a été détecté pour la première fois en décembre 2020 au Pérou.

Système de déclaration

-

Surveillance

30
B.1.617.1 – Kappa

Il s’agit d’un variant à suivre (VOI) en raison du risque d’une nouvelle infection et de l’efficacité réduite de la vaccination contre le COVID-⁠⁠19. Comme il est peu répandu en Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein, il n’est pas considéré comme préoccupant. Il a été découvert pour la première fois en Inde en octobre 2020.

Système de déclaration

1

Surveillance

9
B.1.1.7 – Alpha

Ce variant (découvert pour la première fois en Grande-⁠⁠Bretagne en septembre 2020) est considéré, à l’échelle internationale, comme préoccupant (VOC) en raison du risque accru d’infection. En Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein, ce variant détermine l’incidence de l’infection depuis mi-⁠⁠février 2021. Par conséquent, il n’est plus considérée comme VOC dans ces deux pays depuis mai 2021.

Système de déclaration

18 175

Surveillance

19 604
P.2 – Zeta

Il s’agit d’un variant à suivre (VOI) en raison du risque d’une nouvelle infection et de l’efficacité réduite de la vaccination contre le COVID-⁠⁠19. Comme il est peu répandu en Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein, il n’est pas considéré comme préoccupant. Il a été découvert pour la première fois au Brésil en avril 2020.

Système de déclaration

32

Surveillance

23
B.1.525 – Eta

Il s’agit d’un variant à suivre (VOI) en raison du risque d’une nouvelle infection et de l’efficacité réduite de la vaccination contre le COVID-⁠⁠19. Comme il est peu répandu en Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein, il n’est pas considéré comme préoccupant. Il a été découvert pour la première fois au Nigeria et dans d’autres pays en décembre 2020.

Système de déclaration

4

Surveillance

48
B.1.526 – Iota

Il s’agit d’un variant à suivre (VOI) en raison du risque d’une nouvelle infection et de l’efficacité réduite de la vaccination contre le COVID-⁠⁠19. Comme il est peu répandu en Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein, il n’est pas considéré comme préoccupant. Il a été découvert pour la première fois aux Etats-⁠Unis en novembre 2020.

Système de déclaration

-

Surveillance

9
B.1.1.7 & E484K

Il s’agit d’une variante à suivre (VOI) en raison du risque accru d’infection et du risque accru d’une nouvelle infection Comme elle est peu répandue en Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein, elle n’est pas considérée comme préoccupante.

Système de déclaration

0

Surveillance

-
B.1.1.318

Ce variant est un variant à suivre (VOI), car il laisse supposer une efficacité réduite de la vaccination contre le COVID-⁠19. Il a été détecté dans plusieurs pays en janvier 2021.

Système de déclaration

-

Surveillance

198
Partager
covid19.admin.ch
Source: OFSP (Système de déclaration) – État : 22.10.2021, 07 h 52
Source: OFSP (Surveillance) – État : 22.10.2021, 08 h 01

Chronologie

Variants du virus pertinents, Suisse et Liechtenstein, 28.09.2020 au 22.10.2021

La surveillance systématique des variants de virus en circulation repose sur le séquençage ciblé et complet du génome à partir d’un échantillon représentatif. Les données ainsi collectées permettent d’estimer la proportion de chacun des variants et d’identifier des variants jusqu’ici inconnus.

Le graphique montre l’évolution de la proportion estimée des variants de virus pertinents au cours de la période sélectionnée en Suisse et dans la Principauté de Liechtenstein. La ligne représente la moyenne quotidienne mobile sur 7 jours (moyenne des 3 jours précédents jusqu’aux 3 jours suivants). L’histogramme contient le nombre journalier d’échantillons séquencés complètement.

Pour chacun des variants sélectionnés, les valeurs journalières sont délimitées par une valeur supérieure et une valeur inférieure, qui représentent une probabilité de 95 %.
B.1.351 – Beta
P.1 – Gamma
B.1.617.2, toutes les sous-⁠variants AY – Delta
C.37 – Lambda
Proportion estimée de variantes de virus pertinentes (moyenne sur 7 jours)
Séquençage d’échantillons
Partager
covid19.admin.ch
Source: OFSP (Surveillance) – État : 22.10.2021, 08 h 01