COVID-⁠19 Switzerland

Information on the current situation, as of 21 June 2021

Key figures,Switzerland and Liechtenstein

Relevant virus variants

This data is based on reports from laboratories that sequence the virus material or specifically examine it for mutations. The test results are recorded via our reporting system as well as via a national SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2 monitoring programme.

Virus variants overview

Relevant virus variants, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, 28.09.2020 to 21.06.2021

Virus variants are identified and classified on the basis of mutations in their genome (change to genetic material). In the case of some SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2 variants, mutations lead to altered pathogen characteristics, including an increased risk of infection, more serious cases of the disease, the risk of re-⁠infection and reduced vaccine protection. The spread of these virus variants can impact the epidemiological situation. It is for this reason that they are classified as relevant variants and subjected to special observation.

The WHO has classified individual virus variants as variants of concern (VOC) and variants of interest (VOI). In Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein, the classification of virus variants may differ from those of the WHO, as the relevance of the respective variants depends on their current regional occurrence.

The variant B.1.1.7– Alpha (first detected in the UK in September 2020) has been the most common variant in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein since mid-⁠February 2021. Since May 2021, it has therefore no longer been classified as a VOC in these areas.

Laboratories report the results of the so-⁠called case-⁠specific variant analysis to us via the reporting system. These include the targeted examination of individual mutations or the partial or complete sequencing of the genome. The systematic monitoring of circulating virus variants, on the other hand, involves the targeted, complete sequencing of the genome from a representative sample. The data can be used to estimate the proportion of individual virus variants. Previously unknown variants can also be identified.

Reporting system: Results of the case-⁠specific variant analysis are transmitted to us via the reporting system. Case-⁠specific analyses include either the targeted examination of individual mutations or a partial or complete sequencing of the genome. The data is primarily collected within the context of a targeted clarification (e.g. outbreak investigations, vaccination breakthroughs and re-⁠infections). The collected samples are therefore not representative.

Monitoring: Results from monitoring are based on the complete genome sequencing of SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2. As part of the monitoring, the laboratory sequences random samples from positive SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2 samples. This allows for a representative and comprehensive overview of the currently circulating virus variants to be obtained. On the basis of the data, we can estimate the proportion of individual virus variants. We are also able to recognise previously unknown variants.

Variants Reporting system Monitoring
B.1.351 – Beta

This virus variant is considered to be of concern (VOC) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. First detected in South Africa in May 2020.

Reporting system

249

Monitoring

237
P.1 – Gamma

This virus variant is considered to be of concern (VOC) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. Detected for the first time in Brazil and Japan at the end of 2020.

Reporting system

21

Monitoring

114
B.1.617.2 - Delta

This virus variant is considered to be of concern (VOC) since the beginning of May 2021, as an increased risk of infection, a heightened risk of re-⁠⁠infection and a reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠⁠19 vaccine are suspected. First detected in India in October 2020.

Reporting system

17

Monitoring

83
B.1.617.1 - Kappa

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC. First detected in India in October 2020.

Reporting system

1

Monitoring

10
B.1.1.7 – Alpha

This virus variant (first detected in the UK in September 2020) is considered to be of concern (VOC) internationally due to an increased risk of infection. This variant has been the dominant variant in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein since mid-⁠February 2021. Since May 2021, it has therefore no longer been classified as a VOC in these areas.

Reporting system

18 100

Monitoring

18 642
P.2 – Zeta

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC. First detected in Brazil in April 2020.

Reporting system

32

Monitoring

17
B.1.525 – Eta

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC. First detected in Nigeria and other countries in december 2020.

Reporting system

4

Monitoring

38
B.1.526 – Iota

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to the risk of re-⁠infection and the suspected reduced efficacy of a COVID-⁠19 vaccine. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC. First detected in United States of America in November 2020.

Reporting system

-

Monitoring

8
B.1.1.7 & E484K

This virus variant is considered to be of interest (VOI) due to an increased risk of infection as well as a suspected heightened risk of re-⁠infection. It is not yet so common in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein and is therefore not classified as a VOC.

Reporting system

0

Monitoring

-
Share
covid19.admin.ch
Source: FOPH (Reporting system) – Status: 21.06.2021, 07.54h
Source: FOPH (Monitoring) – Status: 21.06.2021, 08.04h

Development over time

Relevant virus variants, Switzerland and Liechtenstein, 28.09.2020 to 21.06.2021

The systematic monitoring of circulating virus variants involves the targeted, complete sequencing of the genome from a representative sample. The data can be used to estimate the proportion of individual virus variants. We are also able to identify previously unknown variants.

The graphic shows the development of the estimated proportion of relevant virus variants in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein over a selected period of time. The line represents the seven-⁠day average (average of previous three days to subsequent three days). The bar chart contains the number of completely sequenced samples per day.

For the individually selected variants, the daily values are bounded with an upper and lower value, which represent a probability of 95%.
B.1.351 – Beta
P.1 – Gamma
B.1.617.2 - Delta
Estimated proportion of relevant virus variants in the seven-⁠day average
Sample sequencing
Share
covid19.admin.ch
Source: FOPH (Monitoring) – Status: 21.06.2021, 08.04h

Covid-⁠19 Schweiz

Informationen zur aktuellen Lage, Stand 21. Juni 2021

Kennzahlen,Schweiz und Liechtenstein

Relevante Virusvarianten

Diese Daten basieren auf Meldungen von Laboren, die das Virusmaterial sequenzieren oder gezielt auf Mutationen untersuchen. Die Untersuchungsergebnisse werden über unser Meldesystem sowie über ein nationales SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2-Überwachungsprogramm erfasst.

Virusvarianten Übersicht

Relevante Virusvarianten, Schweiz und Liechtenstein, 28.09.2020 bis 21.06.2021

Virusvarianten werden anhand von Mutationen in ihrem Genom (Veränderung des Erbguts) bestimmt und klassifiziert. Bei einigen SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2-Varianten führen Mutationen zu veränderten Erregereigenschaften wie einer erhöhten Ansteckungsgefahr, schwereren Krankheitsverläufen, Risiken einer erneuten Ansteckung und verminderten Impfschutz. Die Verbreitung dieser Virusvarianten kann die epidemiologische Lage beeinflussen. Deshalb werden sie als relevante Varianten klassifiziert und stehen unter besonderer Beobachtung.

Die WHO hat einzelne Virusvarianten als VOC (Variants Of Concern; Deutsch: besorgniserregende Varianten) und VOI (Variants Of Interest; Deutsch: Varianten von Interesse) klassifiziert. In der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein kann die Klassifizierung der Virusvarianten von derjenigen der WHO abweichen, denn die Relevanz der Varianten ist von ihrem aktuellen regionalen Vorkommen abhängig.

Die Variante B.1.1.7– Alpha (erstmals im September 2020 in Grossbritannien nachgewiesen) tritt seit Mitte Februar 2021 in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein am häufigsten auf. Folglich ist sie in diesen Gebieten seit Mai 2021 nicht mehr als VOC klassifiziert.

Laboratorien melden uns die Ergebnisse der sogenannten fallspezifischen Variantenanalyse über das Meldesystem. Diese beinhalten die gezielte Untersuchung einzelner Mutationen oder die Teil- respektive vollständige Sequenzierung des Genoms. Die systematische Überwachung zirkulierender Virusvarianten hingegen beinhaltet die gezielte, vollständige Sequenzierung des Genoms aus einer repräsentativen Stichprobe. Anhand der Daten kann der Anteil einzelner Virusvarianten geschätzt werden. Zusätzlich können bisher unbekannte Varianten identifiziert werden.

Meldesystem: Ergebnisse der fallspezifischen Variantenanalyse werden uns über das Meldesystem übermittelt. Fallspezifische Analysen beinhalten entweder die gezielte Untersuchung einzelner Mutationen oder eine Teil- respektive vollständige Sequenzierung des Genoms. Die Daten werden hauptsächlich im Rahmen der gezielten Abklärung (zum Beispiel Ausbruchsuntersuchungen, Impfdurchbrüche und Re-⁠Infektionen) erhoben. Daher handelt es sich um nicht repräsentativ erhobene Stichproben.

Überwachung: Ergebnisse aus der Überwachung basieren auf der vollständigen Genomsequenzierung von SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2. Im Rahmen der Überwachung sequenziert ein Labor aus positiven SARS-⁠CoV-⁠2-Proben zufällige Stichproben. So kann ein repräsentativer und flächendeckender Überblick über die aktuell zirkulierenden Virusvarianten gewonnen werden. Anhand der Daten können wir den Anteil einzelner Virusvarianten schätzen. Zusätzlich können wir bisher unbekannte Varianten erkennen.

Variante Meldesystem Überwachung
B.1.351 – Beta

Diese Virusvariante gilt als besorgniserregend (VOC), da das Risiko einer erneuten Infektion besteht und eine reduzierte Wirksamkeit einer Covid-⁠19-⁠Impfung vermutet werden. Erstmals im Mai 2020 in Südafrika nachgewiesen.

Meldesystem

249

Überwachung

237
P.1 – Gamma

Diese Virusvariante gilt als besorgniserregend (VOC), da das Risiko einer erneuten Infektion besteht und eine reduzierte Wirksamkeit einer Covid-⁠19-⁠Impfung vermutet werden. Erstmals Ende 2020 in Brasilien und Japan nachgewiesen.

Meldesystem

21

Überwachung

114
B.1.617.2 - Delta

Diese Virusvariante gilt seit Anfang Mai 2021 als besorgniserregend (VOC), da eine erhöhte Ansteckungsgefahr, ein erhöhtes Risiko einer erneuten Infektion und eine reduzierte Wirksamkeit einer Covid-⁠19-⁠Impfung vermutet werden. Erstmals im Oktober 2020 in Indien nachgewiesen.

Meldesystem

17

Überwachung

83
B.1.617.1 - Kappa

Diese Virusvariante ist von Interesse (VOI), da das Risiko einer erneuten Infektion und eine reduzierte Wirksamkeit der Impfung vermutet wird. Sie kommt in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein noch nicht so häufig vor und wird nicht als besorgniserregend eingestuft. Erstmals im Oktober 2020 in Indien nachgewiesen.

Meldesystem

1

Überwachung

10
B.1.1.7 – Alpha

Diese Virusvariante (erstmals im September 2020 in Grossbritannien nachgewiesen) gilt international als besorgniserregend (VOC), da eine erhöhte Ansteckungsgefahr besteht. In der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein bestimmt diese Variante seit Mitte Februar 2021 das Infektionsgeschehen. Folglich ist sie in diesen Gebieten seit Mai 2021 nicht mehr als VOC klassifiziert.

Meldesystem

18 100

Überwachung

18 642
P.2 – Zeta

Diese Virusvariante ist von Interesse (VOI), da das Risiko einer erneuten Infektion besteht und eine reduzierte Wirksamkeit einer Covid-⁠19-⁠Impfung vermutet werden. Sie kommt in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein noch nicht so häufig vor und wird daher nicht als besorgniserregend eingestuft. Erstmals im April 2020 in Brasilien nachgewiesen.

Meldesystem

32

Überwachung

17
B.1.525 – Eta

Diese Virusvariante ist von Interesse (VOI), da das Risiko einer erneuten Infektion und eine reduzierte Wirksamkeit einer Covid-⁠19-⁠Impfung vermutet werden. Sie kommt in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein noch nicht so häufig vor und wird nicht als besorgniserregend eingestuft. Erstmals im Dezember 2020 in Nigeria und weiteren Ländern nachgewiesen.

Meldesystem

4

Überwachung

38
B.1.526 – Iota

Diese Virusvariante ist von Interesse (VOI), da das Risiko einer erneuten Infektion besteht und eine reduzierte Wirksamkeit einer Covid-⁠19-⁠Impfung vermutet werden. Sie kommt in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein noch nicht so häufig vor und wird daher nicht als besorgniserregend eingestuft. Erstmals im November 2020 in den USA nachgewiesen.

Meldesystem

-

Überwachung

8
B.1.1.7 & E484K

Diese Virusvariante ist von Interesse (VOI), da eine erhöhte Ansteckungsgefahr sowie ein erhöhtes Risiko einer erneuten Infektion vermutet werden. Sie kommt in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein noch nicht so häufig vor und wird daher nicht als besorgniserregend eingestuft.

Meldesystem

0

Überwachung

-
Teilen
covid19.admin.ch
Quelle: BAG (Meldesystem) – Stand: 21.06.2021, 07.54h
Quelle: BAG (Überwachung) – Stand: 21.06.2021, 08.04h

Zeitliche Entwicklung

Relevante Virusvarianten, Schweiz und Liechtenstein, 28.09.2020 bis 21.06.2021

Die systematische Überwachung zirkulierender Virusvarianten beinhaltet die gezielte, vollständige Sequenzierung des Genoms aus einer repräsentativen Stichprobe. Anhand der Daten kann der Anteil einzelner Virusvarianten geschätzt werden. Zusätzlich können wir bisher unbekannte Varianten identifizieren.

Die Darstellung zeigt die Entwicklung des geschätzten Anteils der relevanten Virusvarianten in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein über einen gewählten Zeitraum. Die Linie stellt den gleitenden 7-⁠⁠Tages-⁠Schnitt (Durchschnitt der 3 Tage zuvor bis 3 Tage danach) dar. Das Balkendiagramm enthält die Anzahl der vollständig sequenzierten Proben pro Tag.

Für die einzeln ausgewählten Varianten sind die Tageswerte mit einem oberen und einem unteren Wert eingegrenzt, welche eine Wahrscheinlichkeit von 95 Prozent abbilden.
B.1.351 – Beta
P.1 – Gamma
B.1.617.2 - Delta
Geschätzter Anteil an relevanten Virusvarianten (7-⁠Tage-⁠Schnitt)
Probesequenzierung
Teilen
covid19.admin.ch
Quelle: BAG (Überwachung) – Stand: 21.06.2021, 08.04h